TVS iQube Electric
The policy will be in effect till 2030

The Telangana government has launched its new EV policy that will be effective till 2030, today.

Under the policy, the government has stated that it offers 100 percent exemption of road tax and registration fee for the first 2 lakh electric 2-wheelers purchased and registered in the State.

Named the State Electric Vehicle and Energy Storage Policy, it was launched by IT Minister KT Rama Rao and Transport Minister Ajay Kumar.

Electric tractors purchased and registered in the State will also be exempted from paying road tax and registration fee, under the new policy.

By adopting the policy, the State government aims to make Telangana a major base for EV and Energy Storage System (ESS) sectors and to attract investments worth $4 billion (approx Rs. 29,790 crores).

Also, the policy which is built on a 10-year road map beginning this year, aims to create employment for 1.2 lakh persons by 2030.

Other goals stated under the policy include encouraging battery manufacture, creation of EV charging infrastructure initially and eventually creating a market for commercially viable EV charging business.

Further, the State government wants to develop Telangana as a global centre for research and innovation in EVs, battery tech and other emerging technologies.

Under the Telangana EV policy, the State will also facilitate public and private entities setting up the initial batch of fast charging stations within its jurisdiction in a phased manner.

Tailor-made benefits will be extended to Mega projects (worth over Rs. 200 crores investment and employment for 1000 persons) and strategic projects, on a case-by-case basis.

Telangana EV Policy

  • Telangana government has launched its new EV policy
  • Aims to attract investments close to Rs. 30,000 crores under the policy
  • No road tax or registration fee for first 2 lakh electric 2-wheelers
Telangana EV Policy
Employment for over 1.2 lakh people to be created by 2030