The Indian Government has setup a committee to ensure supply of Euro-IV petrol and diesel in 13 major cities. The 13 major cities are Delhi & NCR, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Pune, Surat, Ahmedabad, Kanpur, Agra, Solapur and Lucknow; and Euro-III fuel to be made available in the rest of the country from 1st April, 2010. Currently, all vehicles in these cities get petrol and diesel of BS-III grade.

As there would be delay in upgrading refineries in Barauni, Guwahati and Digboi, Euro-III petrol and diesel will not be sold in certain parts of Bihar and the north-east from April 2010. Other than major cities, BS-II grade of auto fuels are currently served in the rest of the country. The aim is to reduce emission of sulphur and benzene from vehicles that pollute environment.

Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (Siam), has informed that its members are prepared to meet the changed fuel norms. A technical expert associated with the automobile industry said that while most of the vehicles are geared to meet the mandated emission norms, some of the vehicles, which could not be upgraded, would be phased out.