The Maruti Dakshin Dare is a challenging rally that is gaining popularity and the automaker has now kicked off the 8th edition of this championship.

2016 Maruti Dakshin Dare Flag-Off
3 categories in the rally – Ultimate Care, Ultimate Bike and Endurance

The 2016 Maruti Dakshin Dare has been flagged off from Bangalore. The flag-off event took place at Orion Mall amid much fanfare. This time around, the rally will cover a distance of 2200 kms in a span of 6 days. The first leg of the rally will begin tomorrow and the rally will pass through scenic and challenging locations in Coorg, Murdeshwar, Shimoga and Goa.

There are 3 different categories – Ultimate Car, Ultimate Bike and Endurance. 190 people are participating in 110 teams and that also includes 16 women. A scrutiny for all participating vehicles was conducted yesterday and this is done to ensure safety of participants. Vehicles include Maruti Gypsy, Swift, old Baleno, SX4, etc. Newer vehicles like the Hyundai Elite i20, Maruti S-Cross and Ford Figo are also brought in by participants this time.

The Dakshin Dare rally was started way back in 2009 and currently it is in its 8th year. Last year too we covered the rally which took place from Bangalore to Hyderabad. Sandeep Sharma had won the rally and this time around he’ll be battling with Suresh Rana who is another renowned name in the rallying world. Bani Yadav is another participant who has won a lot of rallies like the Desert Storm and Raid De Himalaya in the past.

2016 Maruti Dakshin Dare

– The 8th Dakshin Dare has been flagged off from Orion Mall, Bangalore
– The rally will cover 2200 kms in 6 days
– It is going to be an interesting battle between Sandeep Sharma and Suresh Rana

2016 Maruti Dakshin Dare Flag-Off S-Cross
The S-Cross is participating in Dakshin Dare for the first time
2016 Maruti Dakshin Dare Flag-Off Two Wheeler
16 women are participating in the 8th Dakshin Dare